The Handmaiden And Goblin Take Home Grand Prizes At The 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards + Full List Of Winners

The Handmaiden And Goblin Take Home Grand Prizes At The 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards + Full List Of Winners

The 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards were held on May 3 to celebrate the best and brightest of Korean films and dramas. Actors, entertainers, directors, and screenwriters arrived to a dazzling red carpet event before participating in the prestigious awards ceremony. Suzy returned to MC the event and was joined by actor Park Joong Hoon.

The grand award in film was awarded to Park Chan Wook for his movie, The Handmaiden while Kim Eun Sook took home the grand award in television for her widely-popular drama, Goblin.

Soompi.Display.News.English.300×250.BTF Soompi.Mobile.English.300×250.ATF

Park Chan Wook, like many of the other winners of the night, took his time on stage as an opportunity to make a meaningful statement as South Korea nears its 19th presidential elections. He said, I think I should be able to say this since I won this award for The Handmaiden. I hope that when people are voting for who will be the next president, they will take into consideration whether that candidate will be able to create a society where people are not discriminated against for their gender, sexual identity, and sexual orientation.

Other notable winners included Song Kang Ho and Son Ye Jin for Best Actor and Actress in film, while Gong Yoo and Seo Hyun Jin won the same award for television. Do Kyung Soo (EXOs D.O.), girls Generations YoonA, Park Bo Gum, and Kim Yoo Jung took home the Popularity Award for their respective productions.

The complete list of winners is as follows:

Grand Award Park Chan Wook for The Handmaiden

Best Director -Kim Ji Woon for The Age of Shadows

Best New Director Yeon Sang Ho for Train to Busan

Best Actor Song Kang Ho for The Age of Shadows

Best Actress Son Ye Jin for The Last Princess

Best Supporting Actor Kim Ui Sung for Train to Busan

Best Supporting Actress -Kim So Jin for The King

Best New Actor Ryu Jun Yeol for The King

Best New Actress Lee Sang Hee for Our Love Story

Best Screenplay Yoon Ga Eun for The World of Us

Male Popularity Award Do Kyung Soo (EXOs D.O.) for My Annoying Brother

Female Popularity Award YoonA (Girls Generation) for Confidential Assignment

Television Categories:

Grand Award Kim Eun Sook for Goblin

Best TV Drama  tvNs Dear My Friends

Best Entertainment Program SBSs My Ugly Duckling

Best Educational/Cultural Show JTBCs War of Words

Best Director Yoo In Sik for Romantic Doctor Kim

Best Actor Gong Yoo for Goblin

Best Actress Seo Hyun Jin for Another Oh Hae Young

Best New Actor Kim Min Suk for Doctors

Best New Actress Lee Se Young for Laurel Tree Tailors

Best Screenplay No Hee Kyung for Dear My Friends

Best Variety Star (Male) Yang Se Hyung for Moby Dick Yang Se Hyungs Short-erview

Best Variety Star (Female) Park Na Rae for I Live Alone

Male Popularity Award Park Bo Gum for Moonlight Drawn by Clouds

Female Popularity Award Kim Yoo Jung for Moonlight Drawn by Clouds

Best Style Award Kim Ha Neul for On the Way to the Airport

Lifetime Achievement Award Kim Young Ae

Congratulations to everyone!